- Eating Vegetarian or Vegan
Eating Vegetarian or Vegan
What is a vegetarian diet?
A vegetarian diet is one which omits fish, meat, poultry, and animal by-products such as gelatin.
A vegetarian diet may include eggs, dairy, and all plant-based foods.
What is a vegan diet?
A vegan diet omits all meat and animal products, including eggs and dairy. Other foods, like
honey, are typically not included in a vegan diet as they are produced by or from animals. A
vegan diet only includes 100% plant-based foods such as fruits, vegetables, grains, nuts/seeds,
legumes/beans, and plant-based meat alternatives.
How can I tell if a food item is vegan or vegetarian?
Ingredients, as well as nutrition facts of recipes and food items, can be found on the dining
website food.rutgers.edu or the myRutgers app. Feel free to ask for a Dining Hall Manager if
you have questions while dining.
Is following a vegetarian or vegan diet healthy?
Following a vegetarian and/or vegan diet has been found to be a perfectly healthy way of eating,
as long as all dietary requirements are fulfilled. A properly balanced vegetarian or vegan diet
typically contains just as much protein as a meat-based diet.
With proper food choices, research has shown that vegetarians and vegans often have reduced
risks of developing:
● Certain kinds of cancer
● Heart disease
● Hypertension
● Type II Diabetes
● Obesity
A vegetarian and vegan diet should contain a variety of different foods to ensure proper
nutrition. Some potential nutrients that may be lacking in vegan diets include:
● Vitamin B-12
● Iron
● Zinc
● Vitamin D
● Calcium
How to eat as a vegetarian or vegan at Rutgers Dining Facilities
● Use the myRutgers App or go online at food.rutgers.edu and plan out your meals ahead
of time to ensure you are eating the foods you need to achieve a balanced diet.
● Don't let yourself fall into a rut. Explore the variety of different foods offered in the dining
halls to expand your palate in both flavor and nutrition.
● Worried about your dietary plan? Schedule a meeting with the Nutritionist to develop a
healthy vegetarian/vegan meal plan.
● If you have any questions about the food items in the dining halls, ask to speak with a
Manager or Chef.
Are there vegetarian and vegan options at dining facilities?
The Rutgers Dining Facilities offer a wide variety of vegetarian and vegan food options at every
meal. To see which foods are being offered, visit food.rutgers.edu or the myRutgers app.
Some examples of vegetarian and vegan foods offered at dining facilities include:
● Hummus & beans
● Soy cheeses & vegan deli meats
● Vegetarian & vegan pasta options with nutritional yeast
● Extensive salad bar
● Sautéed & steamed vegetables
● Veggie burgers
● Rice & quinoa
● Vegan ice cream sandwiches
● Vegan egg omelet
● Vegan "chicken" fingers
● Soy, almond, & rice milks
● Tofu or edamame stir-fry
Dining Services Contacts:
● Busch Dining Hall: 848-445-4253
● The Atrium: 848-932-7236
● Neilson Dining Hall: 848-932-9798
● Livingston Dining Commons: 848-445-7250
Nutrition/Healthy Dining Nutrition Specialists
● Alison H. Brown: MS, RDN: 848-932-3648 | nutrition@dining.rutgers.edu
● Peggy Policastro, PhD, RDN: 848-932-5447 | nutrition@dining.rutgers.edu
Brought to you by: The RU Healthy Dining Team: A Joint Program between Rutgers Dining
Services and the New Jersey Institute for Food, Nutrition, and Health- Religious Diets — Kosher & Halal Options
Religious Diets — Kosher & Halal Options at Rutgers Dining Facilities
What is a Kosher Diet?
A kosher diet is one that complies with Jewish religious dietary law. Kosher foods fall into three
categories: meat, dairy, and pareve. The pareve category includes foods that are neither meat
nor dairy. Kosher meats and dairy must be derived from specific animals that are processed in a
specific manner and cannot be consumed at the same time.
What is a Halal Diet?
Halal is an Arabic word meaning lawful or permitted. In reference to food, it is the dietary
standard that is prescribed in the Qur'an (the Muslim scripture) which many Muslims observe.
The term is commonly used in relation to food products, meat products, cosmetics, personal
care products, pharmaceuticals, food ingredients, and food contact materials.
A Halal diet is prepared free of certain types of foods and ingredients including pork products
and their derivatives, alcohol, and meat that has not been prepared in an Islamically ethical
manner.
How Can I Find Kosher or Halal Options in Dining Facilities?
● Facility Status: Dining Services is not a certified kosher or halal facility.
● Kosher Options: Kosher prepackaged entrées are available upon request. If you wish
to have a kosher prepackaged meal, please ask for a Chef or Manager when entering a
dining facility, and they will be happy to assist you.
● Halal Options: All fresh chicken used in recipes at the Busch, Neilson, and Livingston
Dining Halls and The Atrium is halal certified. This includes chicken breast, rotisserie
chicken, chicken thighs, and chicken strips.
○ Note: Processed chicken items, such as chicken fingers, nuggets, and wings, are
not halal unless explicitly labeled as such within the dining facility.
● Vegetarian Options: A variety of meat-free or vegetarian options are available daily
within dining facilities.
Tips: Religious Diets in the Dining Halls
● Always ask before you eat! The dining halls offer a buffet-style service, providing a
wide variety of food options to meet many dietary needs.
● Check Ingredients: If you are unsure of the ingredients in a food item, ask to see a chef
or manager.
● Online Menus: Visit food.rutgers.edu or use the myRutgers app to view the online menu
for daily food offerings with nutritional information and ingredients.
● Dietary Support: If you are having difficulties finding food options that meet your
religious dietary needs, email the nutritionist at nutrition@dining.rutgers.edu to discuss
your concerns and options.
How Can I Tell if a Product is Kosher or Halal?
Look for certification symbols printed on product packaging to determine if a food item meets
kosher or halal guidelines:
● Kosher Symbols: Look for standard kosher certification marks (e.g., OU, OK, Star-K,
KSA).
● Halal Symbols: Look for standard halal certification marks (e.g., Crescent M, IFANCA,
Arabic Halal emblem).
Meal Options Generally Available
Kosher Options (Prepackaged / Certified)
● Fish
● Beef
● Chicken
Halal Certified Options
● Chicken breast
● Chicken thighs
● Rotisserie chicken
General Options
● Vegetarian items
Dining Services Contacts
● Busch Dining Hall: 848-445-4253
● The Atrium: 848-932-7236
● Neilson Dining Hall: 848-932-9798
● Livingston Dining Commons: 848-445-7250
Nutrition & Healthy Dining Specialists
● Alison H. Brown, MS, RDN
○ Phone: 848-932-3648
○ Email: nutrition@dining.rutgers.edu● Peggy Policastro, PhD, RDN
○ Phone: 848-932-5447
○ Email: nutrition@dining.rutgers.edu
Brought to you by: The RU Healthy Dining Team — A Joint Program between Rutgers Dining
Services and the New Jersey Institute for Food, Nutrition, and Health- Lactose Intolerance
Lactose Intolerance — How to Eat Safely at Rutgers Dining Facilities
What is Lactose Intolerance?
Lactose intolerance is defined as an inability to fully digest the sugar (lactose) found in milk and
other dairy products. The enzyme lactase is responsible for the breakdown of lactose in the
small intestine.
When there is a deficiency or insufficient amount of lactase in the small intestine, lactose sugar
is not properly digested. The undigested sugar then passes to the large intestine, causing
various degrees of discomfort and symptoms. Symptoms can vary based on the severity of the
lactose intolerance and the amount of lactose consumed, and may differ for each person.
Signs and Symptoms
Symptoms of discomfort due to lactose intolerance are usually experienced 30 minutes to 2
hours after eating or drinking foods containing lactose:
● Diarrhea (the most common)
● Nausea
● Abdominal cramping
● Bloating
● Gas
Self-Care Tips
If you have noticed that you experience less gastrointestinal discomfort when you avoid dairy
foods, you should continue limiting those foods in your diet.The following tips will help reduce lactose intolerance symptoms:
● Vary Dairy Intake: Not all dairy foods contain the same amount of lactose. Try varying
your intake of dairy to see which amount gives the least amount of discomfort. Greek
yogurt (despite containing small amounts of lactose) could be helpful because of the
beneficial bacteria cultures and probiotics found in it.
● Control Portion Sizes: Try choosing smaller portions of dairy. Many people have a
tolerance threshold, meaning they can tolerate some dairy without symptoms. Start with
small portions to determine how much you can tolerate.
● Choose Dairy Alternatives: Try lactose-free products such as Lactaid or soy milk,
which are typically fortified with the same nutrients found in milk like calcium, vitamin D,
and vitamin A.
● Maintain Calcium Intake: When avoiding dairy, make sure to get calcium from other
food sources such as nuts and seeds, tofu, beans, cooked dark leafy greens (kale,
collards, spinach), and calcium-fortified foods and beverages.
Lactose-Free Options in Dining Facilities
● Plant-Based & Lactose-Free Milks: Lactose-free dairy products are available in dining
facilities. Dining Services typically offers Lactaid milk, soy milk, almond milk, and rice/oat
milk. If you do not see any of these in a dining facility, ask a chef or manager for
assistance.
● Check Ingredients: Be sure to check recipe ingredients at food.rutgers.edu to ensure
the food item is free of dairy ingredients such as milk or cheese.
Foods That Contain Lactose
● Milk
● Yogurt
● Ice cream
● Sour cream
● All types of cheese (parmesan, yellow American, mozzarella, cream cheese, etc.)
● Baked goods and pastries (cakes, muffins, and some cookies and pies)
Enzyme Supplements
Don't be deterred if some of your favorite foods are dairy foods. Supplemental aids are available
that can be taken to help digest lactose:
● Lactaid: A popular supplement available in various strengths that provides the lactase
enzyme to help digest lactose sugar found in dairy.
● Availability: These supplements can be found in campus health centers and local
convenience stores.
Dining Services Contacts
● Busch Dining Hall: 848-445-4253
● The Atrium: 848-932-7236
● Neilson Dining Hall: 848-932-9798
● Livingston Dining Commons: 848-445-7250
Nutrition & Healthy Dining Specialists
● Alison H. Brown, MS, RDN
○ Phone: 848-932-3648
○ Email: nutrition@dining.rutgers.edu
● Peggy Policastro, PhD, RDN
○ Phone: 848-932-5447
○ Email: nutrition@dining.rutgers.edu
Brought to you by: The RU Healthy Dining Team — A Joint Program between Rutgers Dining
Services and the New Jersey Institute for Food, Nutrition, and Health- Nut Allergies
Nut Allergies: How to Eat Safely at Rutgers Dining Facilities
What is a Nut Allergy?
A nut allergy is a reaction of the immune system triggered by contact with nuts. The immune
system mistakenly identifies nut protein as foreign and harmful to the body, resulting in a
reaction.The most common and severe reactions generally occur after eating nuts. Other types of exposure include:
● Direct skin contact
● Cross-contact: exposure of other foods to nuts
● Inhalation: breathing in dust or particles containing nuts
All forms of contact with nuts can potentially lead to allergic reactions.
What is a nut intolerance?
Nut intolerance triggers a digestive response rather than an immune one. It's not life-threatening
but may cause:
● Severe gastrointestinal distress
● Headaches
● Fatigue
Diagnosis often involves elimination diets and speciality testing.
Signs and Symptoms
An allergic reaction to nuts usually occurs within minutes after exposure. If you suspect a nut
allergy, look for the following bodily reactions:
● Skin: redness, itching, hives, rash
● Mouth/Throat: itching, tingling, difficulty swallowing
● Nose: congestion or runny nose
● Stomach: cramps, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea
Anaphylaxis
Anaphylaxis (an-a-fi-LAX-sis) is a life-threatening allergic reaction that can occur throughout the
entire body. Fast treatment with epinephrine can save a life. Anaphylactic reactions move very
quickly, so get help immediately if you or someone you know experiences any symptoms of an
allergic reaction, even if they seem minor. Symptoms may escalate to:
● Constriction of airways
● Swelling of the throat, making it difficult to breathe
● Drop in blood pressure (shock)
● Rapid pulse or heartbeat
● Dizziness, lightheadedness, or loss of consciousness
How To Stay Safe at Rutgers Dining Facilities
● Always ask before you eat!
● Avoid foods with possible cross-contact or "hidden" nuts (desserts, toppings, cereals, ice
cream, condiments)
● Ask a Manager for food from a "back-up pan" (prepared food not yet set out for service).
● Carry an EpiPen or rescue medication at all times, if prescribed.
● If unsure, ask to speak to a Chef or Manager.
Will I Be Cured
People rarely outgrow peanut and tree nut allergies. The best treatment is complete avoidance
of the offending foods.
Be sure to read food labels and be aware of possible hidden ingredients. To find ingredient and
nutrient analysis for dining hall foods, visit food.rutgers.edu or use the myRutgers app.
Rutgers Dining Services offers a wide variety of nut-free foods and is committed to working with
students to accommodate dietary needs.
Foods That May Contain Nuts
● Breads with nut toppings
● Chili and egg rolls
● Flavored coffees
● Baked goods and candy
● Peanut butter & Nutella
● All kinds of nuts (peanuts, cashews, mixed nuts, and nut pieces)
● Asian foods
● Mexican foods
● Cereals
● Ice cream, frozen yogurt, and toppings
● Sauces (BBQ, Worcestershire)
● Soups
● Dressings and gravies
● Trail mixes and granola
Dining Services Contacts
Busch Dining Hall: 848-445-4253
The Atrium: 848-932-7236
Neilson Dining Hall: 848-932-9798
Livingston Dining Commons: 848-445-7250
Nutrition/Healthy Dining Nutrition Specialists:
Alison H. Brown, MS, RDN: 848-932-3648 | nutrition@dining.rutgers.edu
Peggy Policastro, PhD, RDN: 848-932-5447 | nutrition@dining.rutgers.edu
Brought to you by: The RU Healthy Dining Team: A Joint Program between Rutgers Dining
Services and the New Jersey Institute for Food, Nutrition, and Health- Gluten Free
How to Eat Gluten-Free at Rutgers Dining Facilities
What is Celiac Disease?
Celiac disease is a serious autoimmune disorder where ingestion of gluten leads to damage in
the small intestine. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, and barley.
When a person with celiac disease consumes gluten, the immune system responds by attacking
the lining of the small intestine, which is responsible for absorbing nutrients into the
bloodstream. When healthy small intestine tissue is damaged, the person is at risk for becoming
malnourished and deficient in essential vitamins and minerals.
Resource: For more information, visit the Celiac Disease Foundation website.
What Causes Celiac Disease?
Celiac disease is a genetic disorder affecting 1 in 100 people worldwide. The exact cause is
unknown. Although people with celiac disease can show symptoms of the disorder from birth, it
often remains hidden until triggered by an event such as surgery, pregnancy, childbirth, illness,
or severe emotional stress.
Treatment
There is no cure for celiac disease. The only treatment is a complete and lifelong avoidance of
foods that contain gluten. After starting a strict gluten-free diet, inflammation in the intestine
should lessen, along with symptoms. Complete healing and regrowth of the intestine may take
several months to several years.
Working with Rutgers Dining Services
● Students diagnosed with celiac disease can work with a Registered Dietitian to create a
healthy gluten-free diet plan and learn how to identify foods that contain gluten.
● Dining Services employs Registered Dietitian Nutritionists (RDN) who work directly with
students with dietary restrictions.
● You can contact a nutritionist to arrange a meeting to discuss your individual dietary
needs by emailing nutrition@dining.rutgers.edu.
Tips for Eating Gluten-Free at Rutgers Dining Facilities
● Many safe food options are available in the dining halls on a regular basis.
● Avoid Cross-Contamination: Ask a Manager for food from a "back up pan" (prepared
food not yet placed out for service) to avoid cross-contamination from shared utensils or
serving areas.
● Specialty Products: Specialty gluten-free products are available upon request. Contact
a Nutritionist to learn which products are offered.
● Ingredients: If you are unsure of the ingredients in any food item, ask to speak with a
Chef or Manager.
● Daily Menus: Visit the dining website at food.rutgers.edu to view daily menus and recipe
ingredients.
Foods to Avoid (Contain Gluten)
● Foods and cereals containing wheat, rye, and barley
● Most breads
● Couscous, bulgur, farina, and farro
● Soy sauce
● Some candies and candy bars
● Cold cuts, hot dogs, and sausages
● French fries
Foods That Are Generally Safe
Caution: This is not a comprehensive list.
● Rice, quinoa, and sorghum
● Potatoes
● Beans
● Corn
● Fruits and vegetables
● Nuts and seeds
● Unseasoned meat and fish
● Tapioca
● Eggs
● Milk and milk products (except those with gluten additives)
Dining Services Locations & Phone Numbers
● Busch Dining Hall: 848-445-4253
● The Atrium: 848-932-7236
● Neilson Dining Hall: 848-932-9798
● Livingston Dining Commons: 848-445-7250
Nutrition & Healthy Dining Specialists
● Alison H. Brown, MS, RDN
○ Phone: 848-932-3648
○ Email: nutrition@dining.rutgers.edu
● Peggy Policastro, PhD, RDN
○ Phone: 848-932-5447
○ Email: nutrition@dining.rutgers.edu



